I always provide, and I want you to know that what I have given humankind is supreme providence.

It was with providence that I created you, and when I contemplated my creature in myself I fell in love with the beauty of my creation. It pleased me to create you in my image and likeness with great providence.

I provided you with the gift of memory so that you might hold fast my benefits and be made a sharer in my own, the eternal Father’s power.

I gave you understanding so that in the wisdom of my only-begotten Son you might comprehend and know what I the eternal Father want, I who gave you graces with such burning love.

I gave you a will to love, making you a sharer in the Holy Spirit’s mercy, so that you might love what your understanding sees and knows.

All this my gentle providence did, only that you might be capable of understanding and enjoying me and rejoicing in my goodness by seeing me eternally. As I have told you many times, I wanted to make it possible for you to reach this goal.

Heaven had been closed because of Adam’s sin. He did not know his own dignity, considering with what ineffable love and providence I had created him. So he fell into disobedience, and from disobedience into impurity….

…And this disobedience has been and is the source of all the evils that have come after it. All of you have been infected with this venom….

…So, to take away this death, dearest daughter, I gave humankind the Word, my only-begotten Son, thus providing for your need with great prudence and providence.

Catherine of Siena (1347-1380): Dialogue translated by Suzanne Noffke, OP (New York: Paulist Press, Classics of Western Spirituality, 1980), ch. 135, pp. 277-8.

