Cyril-of-JerusalemBefore He entered through the closed doors, the Bridegroom and Suitor of souls was sought by those noble and brave women.

[…] Mary [Magdalen] came seeking Him, according to the Gospel, and found Him not.

And presently she heard from the Angels, and afterwards saw the Christ.

Are then these things also written?  He says in the Song of Songs, On my bed I sought Him whom my soul loved.

At what season?  By night on my bed I sought Him Whom my soul loved.

Mary, it says, came while it was yet dark.  On my bed I sought Him by night, I sought Him, and I found Him not (Cant. 3:1; John 20:1).

And in the Gospels Mary says, They have taken away my Lord, and I know not where they have laid Him (John 20:13).

But the Angels being then present cure their want of knowledge; for they said, Why seek ye the living among the dead?  (Luke 24:5). He not only rose, but had also the dead with Him when He rose (Matt. 27:52).

But she knew not, and in her person the Song of Songs said to the Angels, Saw ye Him Whom my soul loved? It was but a little that I passed from them (that is, from the two Angels), until I found Him Whom my soul loved.  I held Him, and would not let Him go (Cant. 3:3,4). 13.

For after the vision of the Angels, Jesus came as His own Herald; and the Gospel says, And behold Jesus met them, saying, All hail! and they came and took hold of His feet (Matt. 27:9). They took hold of Him, that it might be fulfilled, I will hold Him, and will not let Him go.

Though the woman was weak in body, her spirit was manful.  Many waters quench not love, neither do rivers drown it (Cant. 8:7); He whom they sought was dead, yet the hope of the Resurrection was not quenched.

And the Angel says to them again, Fear not ye; I say not to the soldiers, fear not, but to you (Matt. 28:5); as for them, let them be afraid, that, taught by experience, they may bear witness and say, Truly this was the Son of God (Matt. 27:54); but you ought not to be afraid, for perfect love casteth out fear (1 John 4:18).

Go, tell His disciples that He is risen (Matt. 28:7); and the rest.  And they depart with joy, yet full of fear. Is this also written?

Yes, the second Psalm, which relates the Passion of Christ, says, Serve the Lord with fear, and rejoice unto Him with trembling (Ps. 2:11);—rejoice, because of the risen Lord; but with trembling, because of the earthquake, and the Angel who appeared as lightning.

Cyril of Jerusalem (c. 313-386): Catechetical Lectures 14, 12-13.

